International travelers from COVID hotspots must fill out NY state health forms: Cuomo

Passengers walk through a near empty John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK) due to the ongoing cutbacks in travel because of the coronavirus on April 16, 2020 in New York City.
Photo credit Spencer Platt/Getty Images
By 1010 WINS

NEW YORK (1010 WINS) -- Travelers flying into New York from all but 31 countries will have to fill out the state’s “traveler health form” and self-quarantine for 14 days, Gov. Andrew Cuomo said Monday. 

Cuomo on Monday signed an executive order that will require international travelers entering New York state from “Level 2” and “Level 3” countries to quarantine and fill out a Department of Health contact tracing form

The department currently requires travelers entering New York from high-risk states to self-quarantine for 14 days as part of its travel advisory. The state has been requiring international travelers from “Level 2” and “Level 3” countries to quarantine since March.

Last week, Cuomo aide Melissa DeRosa said the governor planned to sign the executive order because the Centers for Disease Control had “inexplicably” rolled back its screening procedures for international travelers flying into the U.S. 

“The CDC’s decision to end enhanced screening at airports, coupled with alarming case increases in countries around the world, presents an increased threat to New York’s progress in the war against COVID-19,” Cuomo said in a release on Monday. 

All but the following 31 countries are currently subject to the executive order, the release noted: American Samoa, Anguilla, Bonaire, Brunei, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Guernsey, Greenland, Grenada, Isle of Man, Laos, Macau SAR, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Palau, Saba, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Taiwan, Thailand, and Timor-Leste.