More than 50 mayors announce endorsement of Pete Buttigieg: 'We need a great mayor in the White House'

Cover Image
Photo credit FILE - In this Sept. 2, 2019, file photo, Democratic presidential candidate Pete Buttigieg talks with attendees at the Hawkeye Area Labor Council Labor Day Picnic in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Buttigieg would like to turn the fight for the 2020 Democratic presidential nomination into a contest about generational change. But there’s one looming problem for the 37-year-old mayor of South Bend, Indiana: He has yet to win over his own. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
By 1010 WINS

NEW YORK (1010 WINS) -- More than 50 mayors on Wednesday announced their endorsement of fellow mayor and Democratic presidential candidate Pete Buttigieg.

The lawmakers announced their endorsement of the South Bend, Indiana, mayor in a USA Today op-ed.

Mayors from the tri-state area include Luke Bronin of Hartford, Conn.; Joe Signorello of Roselle Park, N.J.; and Noam Bramson of New Rochelle, N.Y. 

One mayor missing from the list? Bill de Blasio, of course, who is running himself, but is not expected to last beyond October. 

“As we face unprecedented challenges, America needs leadership in Washington that gets things done. That’s why we need a great mayor in the White House,” the mayors said in the op-ed. 

The op-ed was written by Mayors Steve Adler of Austin, Texas; Christopher Cabaldon of West Sacramento, Calif.; and Nan Whaley of Dayton, Ohio. 

"We endorse him from heartland towns, coastal cities, suburban communities, and every other corner of our great country," the mayors wrote. "What’s more, in the spirit of the community of mayors, we are already offering Pete our best ideas and helping engage grassroots supporters all across the country."

The endorsements span the spectrum and include mayors from all across the country, including LGBTQ, African-American and Hispanic lawmakers.

Below is the list:

Steve Adler (Austin, TX)

Nan Whaley (Dayton, OH)

Jorge Elorza (Providence, RI)

Christopher Cabaldon (West Sacramento, CA)

Justin Flippen (Wilton Manors, FL)

Christine Hunschofsky (Parkland, FL)

Dean Trantalis (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)

Betsy Hodges (Minneapolis, MN)

Annise Parker (Houston, TX)

Rob Moon (Palm Springs, CA)

John D’Amico (West Hollywood, CA)

Luke Bronin (Hartford, CT)

Liz Alpert (Sarasota, FL)

Michelle De La Isla (Topeka, KS)

Jim Gray (Lexington, KY)

Patrick Wojahn (College Park, MD)

John Cranley (Cincinnati, OH)

Ian Baltutis (Burlington, NC)

John Hamilton (Bloomington, IN)

Jacob Day (Salisbury, MD)

Zach Vruwink (Wisconsin Rapids, WI)

Matt Shorraw (Monessen, PA)

Breea Clark (Norman, OK)

Gabriel Quinto (El Cerrito, CA)

Joe Signorello (Roselle Park, NJ)

John Harabedian (Sierra Madre, CA)

Mark Kleinschmidt (Chapel Hill, NC)

Layla Walz (Wells, NV)

Lydia Lavelle (Carrborro, NC)

Suzanne Prentiss (Lebanon, NH)

Ross Swords, Jr (Brownsville, PA)

Leirion Gaylor Baird (Lincoln, NE)

Kristopher Larsen (Nederland, CO)

Noam Bramson (New Rochelle, NY)

Steve Hagerty (Evanston, IL)

David Berger (Lima, OH)

Tari Renner (Bloomington, IL)

Sly James (Kansas City, MO)

Andy Berke (Chattanooga, TN)

Daniel Yost (Woodside, CA)

Ted Ellis (Bluffton, IN)

Hugh Wirth (Oakland City, IN)

Ron Strouse (Doylestown, PA)

Beth Bashert (Ypsilanti, MI)

Duane Rosenberg (New Carrollton, MD)

Shawn Raup-Konsavage (Bernville, PA)

Dave Kitchell (Logansport, IN)

Rosalynn Bliss (Grand Rapids, MI)

Tom McDermott (Hammond, IN)

Henry Schwaller (Hays, KS)

Greg Goodnight (Kokomo, IN)

Mark Barbee (Bridgeport, PA)

Jim Carruthers (Traverse City, MI)

Gleam Davis (Santa Monica, CA)

Ryan Arndorfer (Britt, IA)

Brent Bascom (Rising Sun, IN)

Gay Ann Harney (Rockport, IN)

Ron Meer (Michigan City, IN)

Gabriel Greer (Peru, IN)