DOE adds 128 schools to 'yellow zone', as 103 others prepare to reopen

NYC school
Photo credit Getty Images

NEW YORK (1010 WINS) -- The Department of Education added 128 new school sites to the Yellow Zone, for a total of 441.

Schools were notified of the zone changes on Wednesday and will go into effect on Monday, October 26.

Additionally, 16 sites that were in the Yellow Zone but remained closed will reopen Monday.

All 85 Orange Zone school sites will reopen, and become Yellow Zone school sites.

There will also be 21 of 66 Red Zone school sites that will reopen, and become Yellow Zone school sites.

Currently, 45 school sites remain in the Red Zone, and remain closed

In total, 103 schools are able to fully or partially reopen.

There were 16 Yellow Zone sites closed under the City’s original metrics, and they remained closed out of an abundance of caution and in order to avoid abrupt scheduling changes.

The decision to close school buildings is one strategy in a comprehensive plan the city designed to reduce transmission in specific geographic clusters as more testing is conducted.

Of 1,859 test results, only two have been positive.