Rangers' Kiner-Falefa, Gallo win Gold Glove Awards

By 105.3 The Fan

DALLAS (105.3 The Fan) – Texas Rangers' third baseman Isiah Kiner-Falefa and outfielder Joey Gallo have won the Rawlings Gold Glove Award for their respective positions, Major League Baseball announced Tuesday night.

The Gold Glove is given to the best defensive player at each of the 9 positions in both the American and National Leagues.

Kiner-Falefa had the best defensive wins above replacement among all third basemen in the American league this season and had the seventh-best fielding percentage at .957.

Kiner-Falefa beat out Chicago's Yoan Moncada and New York's Gio Urshela for the award.

Gallo had the most runs saved among American League right fielders with 12. His fielding percentage was 1,000 as he made zero errors in 53 games played.

Gallo beat out New York's Clint Frazier and Baltimore's Anthony Santander.

Adrian Beltre and Mitch Moreland were the last Rangers to win a Gold Glove when they both won it for their respective positions in 2016.

Here is the full breakdown of last night's winners:

National League

First base: Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs
Second base: Kolten Wong, St. Louis Cardinals
Third base: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies
Shortstop: Javier Baez, Chicago Cubs
Left fielder: Tyler O’Neil, St. Louis Cardinals
Center fielder: Trent Grisham, San Diego Padres
Right fielder: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers
Catcher: Tucker Barnhart, Cincinnati Reds
Pitcher: Max Fried, Atlanta Braves

American League

First base: Evan White, Seattle Mariners
Second base: Cesar Hernandez, Cleveland Indians
Third base: Isiah Kiner-Falefa, Texas Rangers
Shortstop: J.P. Crawford, Seattle Mariners
Left fielder: Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
Center fielder: Luis Robert, Chicago White Sox
Right fielder: Joey Gallo, Texas Rangers
Catcher: Roberto Perez, Cleveland Indians
Pitcher: Griffin Canning, Los Angeles Angels