Anonymous Baseball Hall of Fame ballot ticks off fans, media


It is that time of year again – when Hall of Fame ballots start leaking and everyone tries to make sense of some of the voters’ ballots.

This year, it did not take long for a ballot that made absolutely no sense to surface.

Ryan Thibodaux, who tracks each Hall of Fame ballot that is made public, shared one on Wednesday from an anonymous voter that left many scratching their heads on what exactly his or her thought process was.

The ballot included votes for Bobby Abreu, Torii Hunter, Andrew Jones, Andy Pettite, Aramis Ramirez, Manny Ramirez, Scott Rolen, Omar Vizquel and Billy Wagner.

The voter’s notable omissions included Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Jeff Kent, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield and Sammy Sosa.

The PED era in baseball has left many trying to figure out who does and does not belong in the Hall of Fame, but it is puzzling to justify leaving players like Bonds and Clemens off the ballot and voting for Manny Ramirez and Andy Pettitte – the former who was caught, twice, and the other an admitted user.

Fans and other writers weighed in with their thoughts, which were mostly critical of the inconsistency of the ballot.

Follow RADIO.COM Sports
Twitter | Facebook I Instagram