Indy 500 Carb Day Notebook

ABC Supply AJ Foyt Racing's Tony Kanaan At Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Photo credit James Black-IndyCar Series

SPEEDWAY, In. (93.7 The Fan) – 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan was the fastest during Carb Day’s final practice for the 103rd 500-mile race.

Kanaan’s fast lap of 225.517 mph in the No. 14 ABC Supply AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet was the quickest of the 33-car field.

Kanaan, who will start 16th, admitted the speed came with the aid of a tow from the cars in front of him but was happy with the gains his team made from Monday’s practice.

“I wasn’t really happy with my car on Monday and I was extremely vocal about it, and I think my engineers heard me, so we made it better today,” said Kanaan.  “Obviously conditions look pretty similar to what we’re going to see on Sunday, hopefully.  It was a pretty easy day for us.”

Rookie Santino Ferrucci was second fastest in the final practice with a fast lap of 225.486 mph in the No. 19 Honda for Dale Coyne Racing.

“The No. 19 Cly-Del Manufacturing Honda is in really good shape,” said Ferrucci.  “We could pass about everybody and we’re quick, so there isn’t much else to say really.  We’re looking forward to the race.”

2017 Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato was third fastest at 225.468 mph in the No. 30 Mi-Jack/Panasonic Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

“I think we have a strong package, not the strongest package we’ve had, but I think we made good progress,” said Sato.

PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon was not happy with the No. 9 Honda after turning the 19th fastest lap of the day at 223.388 mph.

“I hope we find something wrong with the car because it wasn’t great,” said Dixon who will roll off 18th.  “We were trying to get through some last-minute items, but ultimately it was not great anyway, so we are trying to figure out why.”

Dixon’s teammate Felix Rosenqvist was right behind him at 20th place with a fast lap of 223.210 mph.

“It was a bit of different conditions today,” said Rosenqvist.  “Hopefully, it will be be like this on race day, so we have an idea on what it is going to be like.”

Askew Wins Freedom 100

Oliver Askew edged Andretti Autosport teammate Ryan Norman to win the Indy Lights Freedom 100 presented by Cooper Tires race.

Norman led 29 of 40-laps and came out of turn 4 with the lead but Askew took advantage of the draft and slid to the inside to win by 0.0067 of a second, the fourth-narrowest margin in race history.

The victory enabled Askew to stretch his championship lead to 21-points over Juncos Racing’s Rinus VeeKay, who finished third.

Ericcson And Arrow Schmidt Petersen Racing Win Pit-Stop Competition

The No. 7 Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda crew of rookie driver Marcus Ericsson won Friday's MotoGator Pit Stop Competition that capped Miller Lite Carb Day activities at IMS.

In the final round, Ericsson's crew - Bob Jansen (chief mechanic and inside right front tire changer), Ryan Marzec (outside rear tire), Keith Beck (air jack), Brendon Cleave (outside front tire), Timothy Lane (fueler) and Nic Kaminski (inside rear tire) - defeated the No. 9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing crew of Scott Dixon in a best-of-three shootout. Ericsson won the decisive third heat in 11.794 seconds, the best time clocked by any crew in the entire competition.

___Follow 93.7 The Fan: Facebook | Twitter | InstagramListen to 93.7 The Fan on the App - Download Now