Watch every walk-off home run of the last 10 MLB postseasons


Of the 2,980 home runs in MLB postseason history, beginning in 1903, only 54 of them have been walk-off blasts that officially ended the game with one swing of the bat.

Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa is responsible for the most recent one, sending his team to Game 6 against the Tampa Bay Rays in the ALCS (via MLB Film Room).

The above blast came off of Nick Anderson who, prior to the playoffs, had completely dominated opposing hitters throughout the 2020 season, surrendering only one home run which was the only earned run he allowed all year. However, Aaron Judge and Correa have now gotten the best of him in the postseason.

Coincidentally, Correa has now hit two of the last three of those 54 postseason walk-off home runs, which are perhaps the most glorious moments a baseball player can achieve save for a playoff no-hitter or perfect game. The other of those three most recent game-winning bombs? His teammate, Jose Altuve.

Let's take a look back at every walk-off dinger in the playoffs over the last 10 years (2011-2020), beginning with those that took place in the Wild Card round.

All plays retrieved and embedded from MLB Film Room. Read more about the new highlight and media archive here.

Wild Card

The only post-2010 Wild Card walk-off — which rolls right off the tongue — belongs to Edwin Encarnacion, whose bomb pushed the Blue Jays to the ALDS for a rematch against the Rangers. They won handily but were downed in five games against the Indians in the following round.

League Division Series

Raul Ibanez - 2012 ALDS Game 3
Jayson Werth - 2012 NLDS Game 4
Jose Lobaton - 2013 ALDS Game 3

What a trio of throwback names. Much to the chagrin of Phillies fans, neither Werth nor Ibanez hit their game-winners as members of the Fightin' Phils. Of the three, Ibanez had the most illustrious career, hitting 305 home runs over 18 seasons. However, when it came to the playoffs, Jayson Werth was the much better performer, even when taking into account the larger sample size. Their postseason numbers can be seen below.

Name G PA R H HR
Jayson Werth6327138571530.251.893
Raul Ibanez441511534622.245.743
Jose Lobaton9182524.278.889
Provided by View Stathead Tool Used
Generated 10/16/2020.

League Championship Series (not including Correa No. 2)

Because MLB Film Room allows five different clips per customized highlight reel, we've included Nelson Cruz's 2011 walk-off grand slam as a separate video. Here are the other five.

Nelson Cruz - 2011 ALCS Game 2
Kolten Wong - 2014 NLCS Game 2
Travis Ishikawa - 2014 NLCS Game 5
Justin Turner - 2017 NLCS Game 2
Carlos Correa - 2019 ALCS Game 2
Jose Altuve - 2019 ALCS Game 6

Altuve's memorable home run off of Aroldis Chapman, which sent the Astros back to the World Series for the second time in three seasons, is capped off by that unforgettable look of bewilderment and near smile from Chapman.

“At that moment when the ball went out, I couldn’t believe it,” Chapman said (via “I couldn’t believe it went out at that time of the game. For that split-second, I just couldn’t believe it.”

World Series

David Freese - 2011 World Series Game 6
Max Muncy - 2018 World Series Game 3

Does it get any more epic than these two blasts? One to force a Game 7, and one in the bottom of the eighteenth inning?

Freese and Muncy recorded two of just 16 World Series walk-offs, including Bill Mazeroski's blast off of Ralph Terry, Kirk Gibson's one-legged round-tripper off of Dennis Eckersley and several others. Here's the full list.

Follow RADIO.COM Sports
Twitter | Facebook I Instagram