'Schitt's Creek' Sweeps Emmy Awards


The 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards took place Sunday night. The ceremony was held virtually due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The awards were presented from the Staples Center is Los Angeles, but there was no red carpet, no audience and, aside from the presenters, no attendees.

Netflix led the way with a record 160 nominations while HBO's "Watchmen" scored the most nominations for any single show with 26. Prior to the ceremony, host Jimmy Kimmel told The Hollywood Reporter he would consider the evening a success "if it isn't boring."

On the comedy side, "Schitt's Creek" cleaned up, taking home the first seven awards presented, including for writing, directing and outstanding comedy series. Things were more split in the drama categories, with HBO's "Succession" taking home the award for outstanding drama series.

Here are the rest of the big winners and nominees from the 2020 Emmy Awards:

Outstanding Comedy Series

"Curb Your Enthusiasm"

"Dead to Me"


"Schitt's Creek" — Winner

"The Good Place"

"The Kominsky Method"

"The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

"What We Do in the Shadows"

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

Don Cheadle — "Black Monday"

Anthony Anderson — "Black-ish"

Ramy Youssef — "Ramy"

Eugene Levy — "Schitt's Creek" — Winner

Ted Danson — "The Good Place"

Michael Douglas — "The Kominsky Method"

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

Tracee Ellis Ross — "Black-ish"

Christina Applegate — "Dead to Me"

Linda Cardellini — "Dead to Me"

Issa Rae — "Insecure"

Catherine O'Hara — "Schitt's Creek" — Winner

Rachel Brosnahan — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Andre Braugher — "Brooklyn Nine-Nine"

Mahershala Ali — "Ramy"

Kenan Thompson — "Saturday Night Live"

Daniel Levy — "Schitt's Creek" — Winner

William Jackson Harper — "The Good Place"

Alan Arkin — "The Kominsky Method"

Sterling K. Brown — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Tony Shaloub — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Betty Gilpin — "Glow"

Yvonne Orji — "Insecure"

Cecily Strong — "Saturday Night Live"

Kate McKinnon — "Saturday Night Live"

Annie Murphy — "Schitt's Creek" — Winner

D'Arcy Carden — "The Good Place"

Alex Borstein — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Marin Hinkle — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series

Fred Willard — "Modern Family"

Dev Patel — "Modern Love"

Adam Driver — "Saturday Night Live"

Eddie Murphy — "Saturday Night Live" — Winner

Brad Pitt — "Saturday Night Live"

Luke Kirby — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series

Angela Bassett — "A Black Lady Sketch Show"

Maya Rudolph — "Saturday Night Live" — Winner

Phoebe Waller-Bridge — "Saturday Night Live"

Maya Rudolph — "The Good Place"

Wanada Sykes — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Bette Midler — "The Politician"

Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series

Gail Mancuso — "Modern Family"

Ramy Youssef — "Ramy"

Andrew Cividino, Daniel Levy — "Schitt's Creek" — Winner

Matt Shakman — "The Great"

Amy Sherman-Palladino — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

Daniel Palladino — "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"

James Burrows — "Will and Grace"

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series

Daniel Levy — "Schitt's Creek" — Winner

David West Read — "Schitt's Creek"

Michael Schur — "The Good Place"

Tony McNamara — "The Great"

Sam Johnson, Chris Marcil — "What We Do in the Shadows"

Paul Simms — "What We Do in the Shadows"

Stefani Robinson — "What We Do in the Shadows"

Outstanding Drama Series

"Better Call Saul"

"Killing Eve"


"Stranger Things"

"Succession" — Winner

"The Crown"

"The Handmaid's Tale"

"The Mandalorian"

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Jason Bateman — "Ozark"

Billy Porter — "Pose"

Brian Cox — "Succession"

Jeremy Strong — "Succession" — Winner

Steve Carrell — "The Morning Show"

Sterling K. Brown — "The Is Us"

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Zendaya — "Euphoria" — Winner

Jodie Comer — "Killing Eve"

Sandra Oh — "Killing Eve"

Laura Linney — "Ozark"

Olivia Coleman — "The Crown"

Jennifer Aniston — "The Morning Show"

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Giancarlo Esposito — "Better Call Saul"

Kieran Culkin — "Succession"

Matthew Macfadyen — "Succession"

Nicholas Braun — "Succession"

Bradley Whitford — "The Handmaid's Tale"

Mark Duplass — "The Morning Show"

Billy Crudup — "The Morning Show" — Winner

Jeffrey Wright — "Westworld"

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Meryl Streep — "Big Little Lies"

Laura Dern — "Big Little Lies"

Fiona Shaw — "Killing Eve"

Julia Garner — "Ozark" — Winner

Sarah Snook — "Succession"

Helena Bonham Carter — "The Crown"

Samira Wiley — "The Handmaid's Tale"

Thandie Newton — "Westworld"

Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series

Lesli Linka Glatter — "Homeland"

Alik Sakharov — "Ozark"

Ben Semanoff — "Ozark"

Andrij Parekh — "Succession" — Winner

Mark Mylod — "Succession"

Jessica Hobbs — "The Crown"

Benjamin Caron — "The Crown"

Mimi Leder — "The Morning Show"

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series

Jesse Armstrong — "Succession" — Winner

Peter Morgan — "The Crown"

Miki Johnson — "Ozark"

John Shiban — "Ozark"

Chris Mundy — "Ozark"

Gordon Smith — "Better Call Saul"

Thomas Schnauz — "Better Call Saul"

Outstanding Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special

Lynn Shelton — "Little Fires Everywhere"

Lenny Abrahamson — "Normal People" 

Maria Schrader — "Unorthodox" — Winner

Steph Green — "Watchmen"

Stephen Williams — "Watchmen"

Nicole Kassell — "Watchmen"

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

Hugh Jackman — "Bad Education"

Jeremy Pope — "Hollywood"

Mark Ruffalo — "I Know This Much is True" — Winner

Paul Mescal — "Normal People"

Jeremy Irons — "Watchmen&