Americans Remain Barred From Entering European Union For Non-Essential Travel

Champs Elysees, Paris, France
Photo credit Credit: J.Burkett Photo
By NewsRadio 1080 KRLD

Travelers from the United States will remain barred from entering the European Union while coronavirus cases continue to rise.

On Tuesday, the European Union accounced that it will reopen its borders to travelers into the EU's 27 members and four other nations in Europe's visa-free Schengen travel zone from the following countries: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

China is still “subject to confirmation of reciprocity,” meaning the communist nation must lift all restrictions on European citizens entering the country before it will allow Chinese citizens back into Europe.

Travelers from Russia, Brazil and India are also barred from the EU citing the rapid rise in coronavirus infection cases. 

The EU is set to reevaulate in two weeks. 

In early March, President Donald Trump suspend all travel from Europe to the US, excluding the U.K, amid the coronavirus outbreak.

.@EUCouncil agrees to start lifting travel restrictions for residents of some third countriesFind out more:

— EU Council Press (@EUCouncilPress) June 30, 2020