Southeastern Pa. will move to ‘green’ phase on June 26, Wolf says

Gov. Tom Wolf
Photo credit The Office of Governor Tom Wolf via Flickr
PHILADELPHIA (KYW Newsradio) — Southeastern Pennsylvania counties will move into Gov. Tom Wolf’s “green” phase on June 26.

The governor said 12 counties will move from “yellow” to “green”: Montgomery, Bucks, Delaware, Chester, Lehigh, Northampton, Berks, Erie, Lackawanna, Susquehanna and Lancaster.

Philadelphia will also move to “green,” but as city officials announced Thursday, the city will follow a more cautious approach with more restrictions than other “green” counties through July 3.

Philadelphia will allow outdoor group sports and outdoor events, and shopping malls, libraries, museums, and schools can open. And, with state permission, some things could resume on June 26, including private swim clubs, zoos, hair salons, and small social and religious gatherings.

Statewide, “green” phase rules permit things like bars and restaurants to allow indoor dining at half capacity. Movie theaters, casinos, shopping malls, and gyms can also open at half capacity. Spas, barbershops, and salons can reopen at half capacity too, but by appointment only.

Face masks and the practice of social distancing are still required indoors. Telework is still encouraged.

The latest announcement means Lebanon County will be the only county in Pennsylvania still in the “yellow” phase. The governor said the county’s refusal to follow orders has resulted in a spike in COVID-19 cases.

Lebanon County state Rep. Russ Diamond was the prime sponsor on a resolution aimed at lifting Wolf’s emergency declaration.

The southeastern counties have been in the yellow phase since June 5.

Wolf did not make Friday’s announcement in person, as he has done in recent weeks. State government is shut down in recognition of Juneteenth.