EXCLUSIVE: Green Day on Pre-Show Rituals and Their First Time on the Radio

The GRAMMY-winning group is gearing up for the ‘HELLA MEGA’ Tour
By , RADIO.COM

As Green Day prepares for their massive HELLA MEGA tour with Fall Out Boy and Weezer, the band is thinking back to some of their earliest days. Back before stadium sets and GRAMMY awards, before platinum plaques and Broadway shows, they were a Bay Area band hoping to get heard.

“The first time I ever heard Green Day on the radio,” Billie Joe Armstrong pauses to search his memory. “Was, KROQ? No it wasn’t KROQ it was Live 105,” he remembers of the legendary San Francisco Alternative station, now affectionately known at ALT 105.3.

“I was in my car with a friend, and they were doing a ‘battle of the songs’ that week,” he adds. “I was in my old Ford Fairlane, and it was, a pretty cool experience.”

In the exclusive interview above, Armstrong, Mike Dirnt, and Tré Cool amp up the anticipation for HELLA MEGA, thinking back on their pre-show rituals and must-haves for their rider.

“I like to wash my hair, but not this hair, the hair that I collect along the road,” jokes Cool about the steps he takes before a show. “Got it in a bag, and I like to wash it every night before I take the stage.”

WATCH MORE: Green Day Go Inside "Father Of All"

While Tré is busy “grooming,” Mike and Billie are more interested in the simpler pleasures after sweating it out on stage.

“A hospitality rider should always have a random new movie that hopefully we haven’t seen,” Dirnt chimes in. “After a show you’re gonna need something to do and you’ve got about two brain cells left if you did your job right.”

“And always ask for socks,” exclaims Armstrong, point vigorously at the camera. “That’s a good one,” adds Dirnt. “Cause I don’t wear underwear.”

Earlier this month, Green Day announced their new album Father Of All Motherf***ers will arrive on February 7, 2020. They have revealed the lead track, “Father Of All,” a runaway burst of adrenaline from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame group.

Tickets go on-sale for the HELLA MEGA tour with Green Day, Fall Out Boy, and Weezer on Friday September 20, with pre-sale tickets starting on the 16th. You can find the full list of dates below.

Fri July 17 Seattle, WA T-Mobile Park
Tue July 21 San Francisco, CA Oracle Park
Fri July 24 San Diego, CA Petco Park
Sat July 25 Los Angeles, CA Dodger Stadium
Tue July 28 Denver, CO Dick's Sporting Goods Park
Fri July 31 Dallas, TX Globe Life Park
Sat Aug 1 Houston, TX Minute Maid Park
Wed Aug 5 Miami, FL Hard Rock Stadium
Thu Aug 6 Jacksonville, FL TIAA Bank Field
Sat Aug 8 Atlanta, GA SunTrust Park
Tue Aug 11 Minneapolis, MN Target Field
Thu Aug 13 Chicago, IL Wrigley Field
Sat Aug 15 Pittsburgh, PA PNC Park
Sun Aug 16 Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium
Wed Aug 19 Detroit, MI Comerica Park
Fri Aug 21 Washington, DC Nationals Park
Sat Aug 22 New York, NY Citi Field
Mon Aug 24 Toronto, ON Rogers Centre
Thu Aug 27 Boston, MA Fenway Park
Sat Aug 29 Philadelphia, PA Citizens Bank Park