Green Day Performs 'Father of All…' Live for the First Time at the Whisky a Go Go

Plus: see Weezer perform 'The End of the Game' on 'Kimmel'
Green Day perform during the “Hella Mega Tour” announcement show at Whisky a Go Go
Green Day Photo credit Timothy Norris/Getty Images for Live Nation

Tuesday was a monster day for Green Day, Weezer and Fall Out Boy that didn’t end until after midnight on the East Coast.

The three huge bands started by each debuting new songs and announcing a joint stadium tour. Then it was off to the legendary Whisky a Go Go on the Sunset Strip for a once in a lifetime gig in front of a few hundred lucky fans.

Billie Joe Armstrong took a victory lap before Green Day launched into “Brain Stew,” announcing to the crowd: “I wanna say one thing on behalf of all three bands: Green Day, Fall Out Boy and Weezer on the HELLA MEGA tour. You’re f******welcome!”

Green Day will release their 13th studio album Father Of All Motherf***ers on February 7, 2020. Lead track “Father of All…” was their contribution to the trifecta of releases and they performed it live for the first time at the Whisky. Armstrong described the song to RADIO.COM as “Hawaii Five-0” meets Rick James. It’s definitely something different for the band.

Weezer took a detour to Hollywood Boulevard before heading to the Whisky. They stopped by "Jimmy Kimmel Live" to tape a performance of their new song,” The End of the Game.” It will appear on their next LP Van Weezer, which is due out on May 1, 2020. River Cuomo has called it a “riff- heavy” album.

Fall Out Boy will release a greatest hits album on November 15 that will include their new song “Dear Future Self (Hands Up),” featuring Wyclef Jean.

2020 HELLA MEGA Tour:

Fri July 17 Seattle, WA T-Mobile Park

Tue July 21 San Francisco, CA Oracle Park

Fri July 24 San Diego, CA Petco Park

Sat July 25 Los Angeles, CA Dodger Stadium

Tue July 28 Denver, CO Dick's Sporting Goods Park

Fri July 31 Dallas, TX Globe Life Park

Sat Aug 1 Houston, TX Minute Maid Park

Wed Aug 5 Miami, FL Hard Rock Stadium

Thu Aug 6 Jacksonville, FL TIAA Bank Field

Sat Aug 8 Atlanta, GA SunTrust Park

Tue Aug 11 Minneapolis, MN Target Field

Thu Aug 13 Chicago, IL Wrigley Field

Sat Aug 15 Pittsburgh, PA PNC Park

Sun Aug 16 Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium

Wed Aug 19 Detroit, MI Comerica Park

Fri Aug 21 Washington, DC Nationals Park

Sat Aug 22 New York, NY Citi Field

Mon Aug 24 Toronto, ON Rogers Centre

Thu Aug 27 Boston, MA Fenway Park

Sat Aug 29 Philadelphia, PA Citizens Bank Park