‘Little House on the Prairie’ reboot in the works nearly 40 years after series went off the air


After nearly 40 years, viewers may soon be returning to Walnut Grove.

A reboot of beloved ‘70s television series “Little House on the Prairie” is being developed by Paramount TV Studios, reported Deadline.

The update will be an hour-long dramatic series based on the bestselling novels by Laura Ingalls Wilder, which were also the inspiration for the original show.

“Little House on the Prairie” aired for nine seasons on NBC from 1974 - 1983.  The historical Western series starred Michael Landon, Melissa Gilbert, Karen Grassle and Melissa Sue Anderson as a family, the Ingalls, who live on a farm in Walnut Grove, Minnesota during the late 1880s.

After the departure of Landon and Grassle as the heads of the family, the series was rebranded “Little House: A New Beginning” for the 1982 -1983 season.

The reboot will be executive produced by Trip Friendly, whose father, Ed Friendly, had acquired the TV rights to the novels and also executive produced the original series.

NBC’s streaming service, Peacock, recently announced all nine seasons of the original series are now available for viewing on the platform.

In addition to the main cast, the series featured early performances from actors and actresses who would go on to garner larger fame in the future.

Jason Bateman, “Beverly Hills, 90210” alum Shannen Doherty and “Real Housewives of Beverly Hills” star Kyle Richards are just a few who got their start playing opposite the Ingalls clan.

Casting, TV network or a premiere date have yet to be revealed for the reboot.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram