WBEN honored with three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Edward R. Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced its 2020 prestigious regional Edward R. Murrow awards for outstanding achievements in electronic journalism and WBEN is honored to have received three of the awards in top categories.

NewsRadio 930 WBEN was named the overall winner for:

  • Best Newscast
  • Multi-Media(website/social media)
  • Overall Excellence

These three top honors recognize the depth of coverage offered by WBEN on a daily basis on the air, online and in our social media presence.

"While the ultimate honor for the WBEN News Department is the trust our listeners and readers place in us as well as our position as the top-rated source for news and information on the radio, these awards are further recognition of the dedicated work of the WBEN Newsroom," said WBEN Operations Manager Tim Wenger.

WBEN competed against radio stations from across the northeast and regional winners now advance to the National Murrow Award competition.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community.