Half Of NY State's Regions Begin Reopening As Cuomo Extends 'PAUSE' Order

Coronavirus NYC
Photo credit Stephanie Keith/Getty Images
By WCBS Newsradio 880

NEW YORK (WCBS 880) -- Gov. Andrew Cuomo said Friday that half of New York's 10 regions will begin reopening Upstate as he announced more than 100 new deaths statewide and said the "PAUSE" order had been extended to May 28.

Cuomo reported another 132 deaths in the state since Thursday, bringing the state's death toll from 22,170 to 22,302.

There were 343,051 total cases of the virus statewide as of Friday.

"We're going to reopen half the regions in the state today," Cuomo said, adding that five regions will begin the first of four reopening phases.

While central New York, the Mohawk Valley, the Finger Lakes, the North Country, and the Southern Tier are reopening Friday, Cuomo said New York City, its surrounding suburbs and western and eastern counties have yet to meet the state’s criteria.