Alonso, DeGrom Among Finalists For Rookie Of The Year, Cy Young Awards

Pete Alonso and Jacob deGrom
Photo credit Getty Images / Gregory Shamus; Jim McIsaac
By WCBS Newsradio 880

NEW YORK (WCBS 880) — New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonso and pitcher Jacob deGrom are up for some of baseball’s top awards this year.

Major League Baseball on Monday revealed the finalist for the four major Baseball Writers' Association of America Awards for the 2019 regular season: MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year.

Alonso was among the top three finalist for the NL Rookie of the Year award, while deGrom is up for the coveted Cy Young award again.

The star pitcher was also the winner of the 2018 Cy Young Award.

Votes for the awards have already been cast and the winners will be announced next week.

Here are the award finalist:

NL Rookie of the Year:
  • Pete Alonso, 1B, Mets
  • Mike Soroka, SP, Braves
  • Fernando Tatis Jr., SS, Padres

NL Manager of the Year:

  • Craig Counsell, Brewers
  • Mike Shildt, Cardinals
  • Brian Snitker, Braves

AL Manager of the Year:

  • Rocco Baldelli, Twins
  • Aaron Boone, Yankees
  • Kevin Cash, Rays

NL Cy Young

  • Jacob deGrom, Mets
  • Hyun-Jin Ryu, Dodgers
  • Max Scherzer, Nationals