Patrice Bergeron's 5th Selke will have to wait


For now, Patrice Bergeron remains tied with Bob Gainey for the most Selke Trophy wins ever with four.

His record-breaking fifth will have to wait, as Bergeron finished second in this year’s voting. Flyers center Sean Couturier beat him out to capture his first Selke, which is given annually to the best defensive forward in the NHL as voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

It’s not surprising that Couturier won. He is in fact a terrific two-way center, and the fact that he hadn’t won before created some “this is his year” sentiment.

What’s somewhat surprising is just how handily he won. Couturier’s 117 first-place votes and 1,424 total points towered over Bergeron’s 21 first-place votes and 884 points. Blues center Ryan O’Reilly, who won last year, finished third. Bergeron’s linemate, Brad Marchand, was ninth in voting, his highest career finish.

When we broke down the race here, we had the favorites bunched together pretty tightly and ultimately picked Bergeron to win.

Bergeron has been one of the three finalists for the Selke for a record nine straight years. His wins came in 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2017.