NHL announces award winners for 2019-20 season

Rangers' Artemi Panarin finishes third in Hart Trophy voting
By WGR 550 SportsRadio

The National Hockey League announced its five major award winners on Monday during a special half hour event on NBC Sports Network and Sportsnet in Canada.

Here is a look at the winners:

Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year): Cale Makar - D - Colorado Avalanche

In his first regular season with the Avalanche, Makar scored 12 goals and registered 38 assists for 50 points, and averaged .877 points per-game in 57 games played. The 21-year-old won the award despite missing 13 games earlier in the year due to an injury. Makar was on pace to end the 2019-20 season with 15 goals and 46 assists for 61 points in 69 games if the COVID-19 pandemic had not shut down the regular season.

In the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs, Makar continued to perform well, averaging a point per-game with four goals and 11 assists for 15 points in 15 games. However, the Avalanche were upset in the Western Conference Semifinal Round at the hands of the Dallas Stars in seven games.

Other Calder Trophy finalists: Quinn Hughes - D - Vancouver Canucks; Dominik Kubalik - LW - Chicago Blackhawks

Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player): Leon Draisaitl - C - Edmonton Oilers

Draisaitl finished the 2019-20 season as the league's top scorer with 110 points (43+67) in 71 games played and came away with the Art Ross Trophy. The 24-year-old not only scored the most points in the league this season, but he also registered the most assists. Draisaitl was also able to add five more points to his total from last season (105 points) in 11 fewer games, and was on pace to finish the 2019-20 season with 50 goals and 77 assists for 127 points in 82 games if the year was not shortened due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Unfortunately for the Oilers, their 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs run was cut short in the Qualification Round by the Blackhawks in four games. In that span, Draisaitl scored three goals and picked up three assists for six total points.

Other Ted Lindsay Award finalists: Nathan MacKinnon - C - Colorado Avalanche; Artemi Panarin - LW - New York Rangers

Vezina Trophy (Goalie of the Year): Connor Hellebuyck - Winnipeg Jets

Hellebuyck put up some excellent numbers in his fifth season with the Jets, playing in a league-high 58 games and registering a 31-21-5 record. He led the league in both shots faced (1,796) and saves (1,656), while posting a respectable .922 save percentage, a 2.57 goals-against average and a league-high six shutouts. Overall, Hellebuyck has posted a career 148-85-22 record in his time in Winnipeg, while also posting a .917 save percentage, a 2.64 goals-against average and 22 shutouts.

The 27-year-old struggled in the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs with a weak defensive performance in front of him. In the Jets' four-game series loss to the Calgary Flames, Hellebuyck went 1-3 with a 3.04 goals-against average and a .904 save percentage.

It is Hellebuyck's first Vezina Trophy win after being named a finalist for the award in 2018, where he finished second in voting to Nashville Predators goalie Pekka Rinne.

Other Vezina Trophy finalists: Andrei Vasilevskiy - Tampa Bay Lightning; Tuukka Rask - Boston Bruins

Norris Trophy (Defenseman of the Year): Roman Josi - Nashville Predators

Josi finished the 2019-20 season second in scoring among defensemen with 65 points (16+49) in 69 games played. He was on pace to score 19 goals and register 58 assists for 77 points, which all would have been career-high marks for the 30-year-old defenseman.

The Predators captain was named a top-three finalist for the Norris after being in the top-five for voting in the 2014-15 season and 2015-16 season, while finishing seventh in voting over the last two seasons. In his nine seasons in Nashville, Josi has gone on to score 413 points (109+304) in 632 games after being a second round pick of the team in the 2008 NHL Draft.

Josi and the Predators, however, did not make it far in the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs after losing to the Arizona Coyotes in four games in the Qualification Round. In those four games, Josi registered four assists.

Other Norris Trophy finalists: John Carlson - Washington Capitals; Victor Hedman - Tampa Bay Lightning

Hart Trophy (Most Valuable Player): Leon Draisaitl - C - Edmonton Oilers

Since being drafted third overall by the Oilers in the 2014 NHL Draft, Draisaitl is quickly becoming one of the best playmaking forwards in the league. In 422 career games in parts of six seasons in Edmonton, the native of Cologne, Germany is averaging exactly a point per-game with 422 points (168+254) in that span.

Other Hart Trophy finalists: Nathan MacKinnon - C - Colorado Avalanche; Artemi Panarin - LW - New York Rangers

Here are some other NHL honors for the 2019-20 regular season:

King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Matt Dumba - D - Minnesota Wild

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Bobby Ryan - RW - Ottawa Senators

Selke Trophy: Sean Couturier - C - Philadelphia Flyers

Lady Byng Trophy: Nathan MacKinnon - C - Colorado Avalanche

Jack Adams Award: Bruce Cassidy - Boston Bruins

Jim Gregory Award: Lou Lamoriello - New York Islanders

Mark Messier Leadership Award: Mark Giordano - D - Calgary Flames

NHL First All-Star Team:

G - Connor Hellebuyck (WPG)
D - Roman Josi (NSH)
D - John Carlson (WSH)
LW - Artemi Panarin (NYR)
C - Leon Draisaitl (EDM)
RW - David Pastrnak (BOS)

NHL Second All-Star Team:

G - Tuukka Rask (BOS)
D - Victor Hedman (TBL)
D - Alex Pietrangelo (STL)
LW - Brad Marchand (BOS)
C - Nathan MacKinnon (COL)
RW - Nikita Kucherov (TBL)

NHL All-Rookie Team:

G - Elvis Merzlikins (CBJ)
D - Cale Makar (COL)
D - Quinn Hughes (VAN)
FW - Victor Olofsson (BUF)
FW - Nick Suzuki (MTL)
FW - Dominik Kubalik (CHI)