ACC Regular Season Awards Headlined By Zion

Cover Image
Photo credit © Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports
By , Sports Radio WFNZ

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced the regular season awards prior to the ACC Tournament taking place in Charlotte this week and Duke freshman Zion Williamson headlines the awards being named ACC All-First Team, All-Defensive Team, Freshman Of The Year and Player Of The Year honors.

Despite missing six games due to a knee injury on Feb. 20 against UNC, Williamson averaged 21.6 points, 8.8 rebounds and 1.85 blocks per game.

Williamson received 49 of 70 ACC Player Of The Year votes cast by coaches and media and 47 votes for Freshman Of The Year.

.@DukeMBB’s Zion Williamson is the #ACCMBB Player and Rookie of the Year!--

— ACC Men's Basketball (@accmbb) March 11, 2019

Williamson joins former Blue Devils Jahlil Okafor (2015) and Marvin Bagley III (2018) as the only players in the ACC’s 66-year history to be chosen as the league’s Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year in the same season.

Joining Williamson on the first-team is fellow freshman teammate R.J. Barrett (23.4 pointers per game) and UNC senior Cameron Johnson (ACC-leading .469 from 3-point range).

North Carolina senior Luke Maye and freshman Coby White were named to the second-team. Named the Preseason Player Of The Year, Maye averaged 14.6 points and 10.6 rebounds per game. White averaged 16.3 points per game and broke the Tar Heels freshmen record for 3-pointers made in a season. 

Freshmen Cam Reddish and Tre Jones were named honorable mentions. In addition, Jones was named alongside Williamson on the All-Defensive Team. 

Virginia's head coach Tony Bennett was named the conference Coach Of The Year and UNC's Roy Williams finished third.

Below are the rest of the All-ACC Selections and Awards:


First Team

Zion Williamson, Fr., Duke, 350*

RJ Barrett, Fr., Duke, 346

De’Andre Hunter, So., Virginia, 302

Cameron Johnson, Sr., North Carolina, 277

Kyle Guy, Jr., Virginia, 231

Second Team

Luke Maye, Sr., North Carolina, 221

Ky Bowman, Jr., Boston College, 188

Ty Jerome, Jr., Virginia, 177

Coby White, Fr., North Carolina, 171

Kerry Blackshear Jr., Jr., Virginia Tech, 170

Third Team

Jordan Nwora, So., Louisville, 135

Marcquise Reed, Sr., Clemson, 129

Tyus Battle, Jr., Syracuse, 128

Nickeil Alexander-Walker, So., Virginia Tech, 72

John Mooney, Jr., Notre Dame, 71

Honorable Mention

Mfiondu Kabengele, So., Florida State, 69

Cam Reddish, Fr., Duke, 37

Tre Jones, Fr., Duke, 18

Terance Mann, Sr., Florida State, 16

Elijah Thomas, Sr., Clemson, 10

ACC Player of the Year
Zion Williamson, Fr., Duke, 49

RJ Barrett, Fr., Duke, 16

De’Andre Hunter, So., Virginia, 4

Ky Bowman, Jr., Boston College, 1

ACC Rookie of the Year
Zion Williamson, Duke, 47

RJ Barrett, Duke, 21

Coby White, North Carolina, 2

ACC Coach of the Year
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 30

Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech, 12

Roy Williams, North Carolina, 11

Leonard Hamilton, Florida State, 10

Chris Mack, Louisville, 7

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
De’Andre Hunter, So., Virginia, 46

Tre Jones, Fr., Duke, 19

David Skara, Sr., Clemson, 3

Trent Forrest, Jr., Florida State, 2

ACC Most Improved Player
Jordan Nwora, So., Louisville, 30

John Mooney, Jr., Notre Dame, 27

Cameron Johnson, Sr., North Carolina, 5

Mfiondu Kabengele, So., Florida State, 4

Kerry Blackshear Jr., Jr., Virginia Tech, 2

Chris Lykes, So., Miami, 2

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Mfiondu Kabengele, So., Florida State, 60

DJ Funderburk, So., NC State, 3

Jared Wilson-Frame, Jr., Pitt, 3

Nassir Little, Fr., North Carolina, 2

Braxton Key, Jr., Virginia, 2

ACC All-Defensive Team

De’Andre Hunter, So., Virginia, 60

Tre Jones, Fr., Duke, 56

Zion Williamson, Fr., Duke, 53

Elijah Thomas, Sr., Clemson, 31

James Banks III, Jr., Georgia Tech, 29

ACC All-Freshman Team

Zion Williamson, Duke, 70*

Coby White, North Carolina, 67

RJ Barrett, Duke, 66

Xavier Johnson, Pitt, 40

Tre Jones, Duke, 38


Congrats to our 2019 #ACCMBB All-ACC First, Second, and Third teams!

— ACC Men's Basketball (@accmbb) March 11, 2019