Jackie Bradley Jr. and Yadier Molina weren’t happy about their Gold Glove snubs


Rawlings announced its American and National League Gold Glove finalists Thursday with a few glaring omissions including Red Sox outfielder Jackie Bradley Jr., who had plenty to say about his Gold Glove snub.

You can understand JBJ’s frustration. Despite being lauded as one of the game’s top defensive outfielders, the 30-year-old doesn’t have much to show for it, earning a single Gold Glove over his eight major-league seasons. Among center fielders, Bradley tied White Sox rookie Luis Robert for the MLB-lead in outs above average with seven (h/t to Sam Dykstra of MILB.com for the find), yet it still wasn’t enough for him to crack the top three at his position in AL Gold Glove voting.

Cardinals veteran Yadier Molina had a similar bone to pick, wondering how he finished behind division rivals Tucker Barnhart, Willson Contreras and Jacob Stallings in National League catcher balloting.

A likely Hall of Famer and one of the most decorated defensive players of his era, the 38-year-old backstop had been seeking his 10th career Gold Glove, which would have tied him with Reds legend Johnny Bench for the most among National League catchers. Ivan Rodriguez is the all-time leader with 13 such honors with most of those coming as a member of the Texas Rangers. Prior to Thursday’s cold-shoulder, Molina had either won the award or finished as a finalist each year since 2008.

Twenty-four of MLB’s 30 teams received Gold Glove nominations with the Cubs accounting for a league-high seven nods (Javier Baez, Willson Contreras, Kyle Hendricks, Jason Heyward, Nico Hoerner, Alec Mills and Anthony Rizzo). The neighboring White Sox were also well-represented with Yasmani Grandal, James McCann, Danny Mendick, Yoan Moncada and the aforementioned Robert all checking in as finalists.

This year’s crop of candidates includes a pair of siblings with Yuli Gurriel of the Astros and Blue Jays outfielder Lourdes Gurriel both up for Gold Glove consideration. Winners in each category will be revealed November 3 during a special one-hour presentation on ESPN. Below is the complete list of finalists.

American League

Griffin Canning, Angels
Kenta Maeda, Twins
Zach Plesac, Indians

Yasmani Grandal, White Sox
James McCann, White Sox
Roberto Perez, Indians

First Base
Yuli Gurriel, Astros
Matt Olson, Athletics
Evan White, Mariners

Second Base
Cesar Hernandez, Indians
Nicky Lopez, Royals
Danny Mendick, White Sox
Jonathan Schoop, Tigers

Third Base
Isiah Kiner-Falefa, Rangers
Yoan Moncada, White Sox
Gio Urshela, Yankees

Carlos Correa, Astros
J.P. Crawford, Mariners
Niko Goodrum, Tigers

Left Field
Alex Gordon, Royals
Lourdes Gurriel, Blue Jays
Kyler Tucker, Astros

Center Field
Byron Buxton, Twins
Ramon Laureano, Athletics
Luis Robert, White Sox

Right Field
Clint Frazier, Yankees
Joey Gallo, Rangers
Anthony Santander, Orioles

National League

Max Fried, Braves
Kyle Hendricks, Cubs
Alec Mills, Cubs

Tucker Barnhart, Reds
Willson Contreras, Cubs
Jacob Stallings, Pirates

First Base
Brandon Belt, Giants
Paul Goldschmidt, Cardinals
Anthony Rizzo, Cubs

Second Base
Adam Frazier, Pirates
Nico Hoerner, Cubs
Kolten Wong, Cardinals

Third Base
Brian Anderson, Marlins
Nolan Arenado, Rockies
Manny Machado, Padres

Javier Baez, Cubs
Miguel Rojas, Marlins
Dansby Swanson, Braves

Left Field
Shogo Akiyama, Reds
Tyler O’Neill, Cardinals
David Peralta, Diamondbacks

Center Field
Ronald Acuna, Braves
Cody Bellinger, Dodgers
Trent Grisham, Padres

Right Field
Mookie Betts, Dodgers
Charlie Blackmon, Rockies
Kole Calhoun, Diamondbacks
Jason Heyward, Cubs

Follow RADIO.COM Sports
Twitter | Facebook I Instagram