Nick Saban selected to the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame

Cover Image
Photo credit Getty Images - Jamie Squire
"His selection is simply a recognition of his tremendous impact on LSU Sports, LSU Football and our state," says Doug Ireland, Chairman of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

Nick Saban arrived at Baton Rouge in 2000. In 2001, he lead the team its first SEC Championship since 1986, and its first Sugar Bowl win since 1968.  In 2003, the Sugar Bowl hosted the BCS Championship. Saban's squad beat the Oklahoma Sooners for the National Championship going 13-1 for the season. 

"Look back at the year 2000 when he arrived and where LSU Football and Athletics were, and what happened in those five seasons," Ireland says. "The SEC Championships and the 2003 National Championship and the foundation laid in terms of talent."

Ireland credits Saban with creating the Golden Era of LSU Sports in terms of facilities, fund raising and structural changes that have made LSU a powerhouse. 

Saban will enter the Hall of Fame a year after former coach Les Miles was inducted.  His class includes an eclectic and broad collections of sporting greats including Duck Dynasty creator Phil Robinson, former Ragin Cajun and Bears tackle Charles 'Peanut' Tillman and former Harlem Globetrotter 'Sweet' Lou Dunbar.