Joe Burrow named SEC's Male Athlete of the Year


Joe Burrow has been named the 2019-2020 Roy F. Kramer SEC Male Athlete of the Year. 

LSU’s Heisman Trophy winning quarterback won the award which is determined by a vote of the league’s athletic directors. "The SEC is proud to honor Joe and (South Carolina basketball player Tyasha Harris) as the recipients of this year’s Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey in a news release. “They have competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics and through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence have been successful in their endeavors. They are great examples of what it means to be a student-athlete in the Southeastern Conference and are outstanding representatives of their universities as both students and athletes.” Burrow, who was the No. 1 overall pick in the 2020 NFL Draft, set NCAA records with 60 touchdown passes and 65 total touchdowns last season and led the nation with an SEC record 5,671 passing yards.  In addition to posting those record numbers, the current Cincinnati Bengals quarterback led LSU to a perfect 15-0 season, including a 42-25 College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship victory over defending champion Clemson. 

It's the second award in as many weeks for Burrow as he was named the Allstate Sugar Bowl's James J. Corbett Award winner Friday. That award goes to the top amateur athlete in the state of Louisiana.

Burrow also earned the AP National Player of the Year award, the Manning Award, the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award, the Davey O'Brien Award and the Johnny Unitas Award as well as being a unanimous First-Team All-American and the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.