Joe Burrow could become LSU's second Heisman Trophy winner Saturday night

LSU Tigers quarterback Joe Burrow (9) walks across the field as they celebrate their 37-10 victory over the Georgia Bulldogs in the 2019 SEC Championship Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.
Photo credit John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

LSU’s Heisman Trophy finalist Joe Burrow left for New York Friday ahead of the highly anticipated ceremony where the quarterback is expected to receive college football’s top award.

RELATED: Drew Brees on Joe Burrow: “He’s going to be the Heisman winner”

See ya soon, New York!

— LSU Football (@LSUfootball) December 13, 2019

Burrow even received a letter from the family of the only other Tiger to win the award, former LSU running back Billy Cannon, who claimed the trophy in 1959.

A letter from Billy Cannon’s family as we land in New York

— LSU Football (@LSUfootball) December 13, 2019

Burrow, the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, has re-written the LSU record books, establishing school marks for passing yards (4,715), passing TDs (48), passing yards per game (362.7), completions (342), total offense (5,004) and total offense per game (384.9).  He also broke the SEC record for passing yards and passing touchdowns in a single season and is on pace to set the NCAA single-season record for completion percentage as he's connected on 77.9 percent of this attempts, while leading the Tigers to a 13-0 record and the top-seed in the College Football Playoff. 

Burrow's play lead to the honor of being named the nation’s offensive player of the year; he also received the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell awards earlier this week.

Joe Burrow will join Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts, who the Tigers will face Dec. 28 in the College Football Playoff semifinal in Atlanta, Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields and defensive end Chase Young ay the Heisman award ceremony, which will be held Saturday, Dec. 14 at 7 p.m. CT on ESPN.